Pangos Among 20 Finalists For Bob Cousy Point Guard Award

            SPRINGFIELD, Mass. - Gonzaga University sophomore Kevin Pangos is among the 20 watch list finalists for the 2013 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award.

            The finalists were announced Thursday by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

            The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guards in men's college basketball. An original list of 80 candidates was trimmed down by a nationally-based committee to the below list of 20.

            "This list embodies 20 of the nations most elite and dominate point guards in college basketball," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "The Hall of Fame is honored to celebrate these feats, as we move forward to the latter stages of the selection process."

             "All 20 of these young men represent strong values of skill, determination and teamwork, all characteristics that made Mr. Cousy the iconic leader he was," said Ken Kaufman, Chair of the Bob Cousy Award and former president of the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). "These young men are certainly deserving of this acknowledgement. We look forward to continuing the selection process, and seeing all of the players compete for this highly-respected award."

            Pangos, from Newmarket, Ontario, is averaging a team-high 3.7 assists/game this season and has a 2.57 assist-to-turnover ratio. He's averaging 11.8 ppg and 2.3 rpg. He had a career-high 9 assists last season against Loyola Marymount University and also scored a career-high 33 points against Washington State University. This season he has had 6 assists in a game three times and scored a season-high 31 points against Baylor.

            The current listing of 20 finalists for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to 10 players in early February and then down five players by early March. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Championship Monday April 8 in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

            Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph's), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) and last year's recipient Kendall Marshall (North Carolina).

2013 Bob Cousy Award Candidates


Jahii Carson/Arizona State University

Pierre Jackson/Baylor University

Quinn Cook/Duke University


Keith Appling/Michigan State University

Isaiah Canaan/Murray State University

Kendall Williams/New Mexico

Lorenzo Brown/North Carolina State University

Aaron Craft/Ohio State University

D.J. Cooper/Ohio University

Marcus Smart/Oklahoma State University

Nate Wolters/South Dakota State University

Michael Carter-Williams/Syracuse University

Mark Lyons/University of Arizona

Ray McCallum/University of Detroit Mercy

Peyton Siva/University of Louisville

Trey Burke/University of Michigan

Andre Hollins/University of Minnesota

Phil Pressey/University of Missouri

Erick Green/Virginia Tech



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «