Morrison Named To Wooden Mid-Season Top 30

Feb. 1, 2006

LOS ANGELES - Gonzaga junior Adam Morrison has been named to the John R. Wooden Award Mid-Season Top 30, the seventh straight season a Bulldog has been so honored.

The selection of the Mid-Season Top 30 by the John R. Wooden Award committee is based on individual player performance and team records through the first half of the season.

Morrison, a homegrown product of Spokane's Mead High, currently leads the nation in scoring at 29.0 ppg. He has had four games of 40 or more points this season, including a career-high 43 against Michigan State and Washington. He's had nine games of 30+ points this season. Gonzaga is 17-3 and ranked fifth in the country by the two major polls.

The list includes 2005 Wooden Award All-Americans J.J. Redick (Duke) and Dee Brown (Illinois), as well as a number of outstanding players that were in the running for last year's Wooden Award. Redick ranks third in the nation in scoring (27.3 ppg) while leading Duke to a 17-1 record, and Brown, despite starting slowly while recovering from an off-season injury, leads the Illini in scoring (15.3 ppg) and assists (5.7 apg). Shelden Williams (Duke) and Craig Smith (Boston College) join Redick and Brown as the only Mid-Season candidates named to last year's official voting ballot.

Other Mid-Season candidates that were in the running for last year's Wooden Award include Justin Gray (Wake Forest), Carl Krauser (Pittsburgh), Gerry McNamara (Syracuse) and P.J. Tucker (Texas). Further, seven newcomers, an unusually large number, have been selected to the Mid-Season list who were not selected to the Pre-season list. This group includes LaMarcus Aldridge (Texas), Randy Foye (Villanova), Mike Gansey (West Virginia), Thomas Gardner (Missouri), Taurean Green (Florida), Marco Killingsworth (Indiana) and Allan Ray (Villanova). In total, 18 seniors, six juniors and six sophomores were selected to the Mid-Season list. Though no freshmen were selected, they were eligible for the Mid-Season list and will be considered for the national ballot.

"The Mid-Season selection committee had an incredibly difficult task this season in narrowing the list to 30 players because there have been so many outstanding individual performers thus far," said Duke Llewellyn, Wooden Award chairman. In addition to a number of top pre-season candidates who have excelled, the Mid-Season list includes several talented newcomers who have elevated their teams. We look forward to watching this group of amazing athletes as we determine the top candidates for the Wooden Award All-American Team."

Players who do not make the Mid-Season list are still eligible for the national ballot, which will be selected in March and will consist of approximately 20 players who have proven to their universities that they are also making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. More than 1,000 voters, comprised of sports media members and college basketball experts across the nation, will then cast their votes to determine both the 10-member All-American Team and Player of the Year recipient.

The 2006 Wooden Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-American Teams, and Legends of Coaching Award recipient Jim Boeheim of Syracuse University, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 8 and will be broadcast live on a national CBS telecast. The top five male and female finalists will be invited to Los Angeles for the awards ceremony and will receive a contribution from the John R. Wooden Award Scholarship Fund for their university's general scholarship fund.

2006 John R. Wooden Award Mid-Season Top 30

Candidate            Ht.    Yr.    Pos.    School
Hassan Adams         6-4    SR      G      Arizona
Maurice Ager         6-5    SR      G      Michigan State
LaMarcus Aldridge    6-10   SO      F      Texas
Dee Brown*           5-11   SR      G      Illinois
Rodney Carney        6-7    SR      F      Memphis
Paul Davis           6-11   SR      C      Michigan State
Taquan Dean          6-3    SR      G      Louisville
Jordan Farmar        6-2    SO      G      UCLA
Nick Fazekas         6-11   JR      F      Nevada
Randy Foye           6-4    SR      G      Villanova
Mike Gansey          6-4    SR      F      West Virginia
Thomas Gardner       6-5    JR      G      Missouri
Rudy Gay             6-9    SO      F      Connecticut
Justin Gray          6-2    SR      G      Wake Forest
Taurean Green        6-0    SO      G      Florida
Marco Killingsworth  6-8    SR      F      Indiana
Carl Krauser         6-2    JR      G      Pittsburgh
Paul Millsap         6-8    JR      F      Louisiana Tech
Gerry McNamara       6-2    SR      G      Syracuse
Adam Morrison        6-8    JR      F      Gonzaga
Steve Novak          6-10   SR      F      Marquette
Kevin Pittsnogle     6-11   SR      C      West Virginia
Allan Ray            6-2    SR      G      Villanova
J.J. Redick*         6-4    SR      G      Duke
Rajon Rondo          6-1    SO      G      Kentucky
Brandon Roy          6-6    SR      G      Washington
Craig Smith          6-7    SR      F      Boston College
Alando Tucker        6-5    JR      F      Wisconsin
P.J. Tucker          6-5    JR      F      Texas
Shelden Williams     6-9    SR      F      Duke
* Indicates player was a 2005 John R. Wooden Award All-American.


Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «