Bouldin A Finalist For Two National Basketball Awards

Feb. 6, 2010

SPOKANE, Wash. - Gonzaga University senior guard Matt Bouldin has been named a finalist for two major awards.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Mass., selected Bouldin as one of 11 finalists for the 2010 Bob Cousy Award presented by The Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc., and he is one of 10 finalists for the 2009-10 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award.

The Cousy Award is given to college basketball's top point guard and is named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtics guard Bob Cousy. An original list of 73 candidates made up of players from Division I, II and III schools was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally based committee to 20 and has now narrowed that list to a final 11.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in SchoolTM, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - classroom, character, community and competition. The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 men's candidates and 30 women's candidates who were announced in October.

"This final list of 11 players represents the cream of the crop in college basketball at the point guard position," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "We look forward to recognizing the nation's top college basketball point guard and wish all the candidates best of luck."

Beginning February 5, via the Bob Cousy Award's website - - fans will be able to vote for the top point guard. The player that receives the most fan votes will receive one vote toward the final committee vote. Fan voting will run one month and conclude March 5.



The 11 finalists for the Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed to five players by March 1. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame's selection committee. These Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Monday April 5 in Indianapolis as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Joining Bouldin as finalists are Sherron Collins, University of Kansas; Devan Downey, University of South Carolina; Trevon Hughes, University of Wisconsin, Jeremy Lin, Harvard University; Kalin Lucas, Michigan State University; Ronald Moore, Siena College; Scottie Reynolds, Villanova University; John Scheyer, Duke University; Greivis Vasquez, University of Maryland, and John Wall, University of Kentucky.

Nationwide balloting begins immediately to determine the winner of the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. Lowe's, an official corporate partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award winners during the 2010 NCAA Men's and Women's Final Fours in early April.

In addition to Bouldin, the finalists are Da'Sean Butler, West Virginia University; Marquis Hall, Lehigh University; Luke Harangody, University of Notre Dame; Damion James, University of Texas at Austin; Adam Koch, Northern Iowa University; Chris Kramer, Purdue University; Raymar Morgan, Michigan State University; Jon Scheyer, Duke University, and Josh Young, Drake University.

These 10 names will be placed on the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award basketball ballot for a nationwide vote concluding March 22. Fan balloting will be available on the award's official Web site,, as well as through text messaging. Fans can text MBBALL to 74567 to vote for men's finalists. These votes will be combined with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award.

"Like all student-athletes, basketball players have many demands on their time," said Tom Lamb, Lowe's senior vice president of marketing. "These finalists have made it a priority to use some of their spare time to improve their communities through various service projects. Lowe's puts a premium on community service and values the contributions these young people make each day."

The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards that a senior season can bring.

Sportscaster Dick Enberg, Honorary Chairman of the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, first conceived the idea of an award for seniors in 2001 in response to the growing trend of men's basketball players leaving school early for the NBA. The award program has expanded the past two years to include a total of nine NCAA Division I sports.

Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «