Turiaf Naismith Trophy Top 30

Feb. 11, 2005

ATLANTA - Gonzaga University senior Ronny Turiaf is one of thirty mid-season candidates for the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced.

The Top 30 list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season. The list was narrowed down from the pre-season list of 50 candidates who were announced at the beginning of the season.

It's the second straight season Turiaf has been a Top 30 selection.

"This basketball season has been among the most exciting and unpredictable in recent years," said Gary Stokan, Atlanta Tipoff Club president. "It's a result of these players rising to the occasion when it's most important and the one player who distinguishes himself above all others will raise the Naismith Trophy in April."

As part of its involvement, Cingular is making this year's selection process unique. For the first time, college basketball fans have a voice in deciding who wins the Naismith Trophy presented by Cingular Wireless through the power and ease of wireless text messaging.

"The Naismith Trophy symbolizes the best player in the country and all of these candidates are worthy of that honor," said Marc Lefar, Chief Marketing Officer for Cingular. "We are excited that our involvement will enable college basketball fans nationwide to have their say in who will be this year's winner."

Beginning Saturday, CBS' "Cingular at the Half" will feature a weekly Naismith Trophy Watch highlighting the players in contention. These players, and others who distinguish themselves throughout the season, will be eligible for the final ballot in March when four finalists for the award are announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors.

2005 Naismith Trophy Top 30

Name Ht. Yr. Pos. School Andrew Bogut 7-0 So. F/C Utah Josh Boone 6-10 So. F Connecticut Dee Brown 5-11 Jr. G Illinois Taylor Coppenrath 6-9 Sr. F Vermont Travis Diener 6-1 Sr. G Marquette Ike Diogu 6-8 Jr. F Arizona State Raymond Felton 6-0 Jr. G North Carolina Channing Frye 6-11 Sr. C Arizona Francisco Garcia 6-7 Jr. F Louisville Ryan Gomes* 6-8 Sr. F Providence Joey Graham 6-7 Sr. F Oklahoma State Luther Head 6-3 Sr. G Illinois Julius Hodge 6-6 Sr. G North Carolina State Jarrett Jack 6-3 Jr. G Georgia Tech John Lucas* 5-11 Sr. G Oklahoma State Sean May 6-9 Jr. F/C North Carolina Rashad McCants 6-3 Jr. F North Carolina Gerry McNamara 6-2 Jr. G Syracuse Chris Paul 6-0 So. G Wake Forest J.J. Redick 6-4 Jr. G Duke Lawrence Roberts* 6-9 Sr. F Mississippi State Nate Robinson 5-9 Jr. G Washington Wayne Simien 6-8 Sr. F Kansas Craig Smith 6-7 Jr. F Boston College Salim Stoudamire 6-1 Sr. G Arizona Ronny Turiaf 6-10 Sr. F Gonzaga Hakim Warrick 6-9 Sr. F Syracuse Deron Williams 6-3 Jr. G Illinois Shelden Williams 6-9 Jr. F Duke Kennedy Winston 6-7 Jr. F Alabama



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «