Kennel Club Advances In Student Section Of Year Award

            SPOKANE, Wash. - Gonzaga University's Kennel Club has advanced to the semifinal round of the inaugural Naismith Student Section of the Year Award balloting.

             With nearly 80 Division I basketball schools vying for the award, the field has been narrowed to only 16 semifinal schools that are eligible to take home the top prize. As one of the top college basketball student sections in the country, the University is asking for fan support to help win the prestigious title. Bulldog fans will now have a say in determining the most deserving student section by voting for the Naismith Student Section of the Year Award.

            By clicking here, Gonzaga fans can vote for the Kennel Club as the top student section in college basketball. Semifinal round voting is open February 13 - 24, 2012. Fans are allowed to vote once per day.

            The top eight schools that receive the most votes from the semifinal round will be sent to the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors for final award selection. The Naismith Awards Board of Selectors will review criteria such as the student section's name and attendance, as well as photos, video, and a write-up submitted by the nominating school, which will aid in determining the winning student section. Complete details on the selection process can be found at by clicking here.

            The winning student section gets bragging rights, while the winning school will receive $5,000 for its athletic association.

            Joining Gonzaga in the field of 16 are - the University of Kansas, Purdue University, San Diego State University, Utah State University, Indiana University, Duke University, Syracuse University, West Virginia University, University of Kentucky, University of Illinois, University of California, University of Pittsburgh, Drexel University, University of Colorado and the University of Arizona.

            The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership of The Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), a division of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating fans that love college hoops and provide support to their college basketball team with devotion and passion.



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «