Turiaf Finalist For Naismith Award

Feb. 19, 2004

ATLANTA, Ga. - Gonzaga University forward Ronny Turiaf is one of 20 finalists for the Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year award.

Jackie Bradford, President of the Atlanta Tipoff Club, announced the finalists Wednesday.

The Naismith Board of Selectors, which includes some of the country's leading basketball coaches, journalists, and administrators, began the selection process earlier this year. They have reduced the number of finalists by balloting to the twenty top male and female players they feel most deserving of the award.

The winners of the Naismith Awards for men and women will be honored in Atlanta on Friday, April 9, 2004.

Turiaf is averaging 15.5 ppg, 6.3 rpg and 1.6 blocks/game for the 22-2 Bulldogs who are ranked sixth nationally in both the Associated Press and USA Today/ESPN Top 25 polls. The junior from Le Robert, Martinique, is shooting 54.0 percent from the field and 71.1 percent from the free throw line.

The finalists for the Naismith College Player of the Year Award (listed alphabetically) are as follows:

Josh Childress, Stanford
Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Chris Duhon, Duke
Andre Emmett, Texas Tech
Raymond Felton, North Carolina
Matt Freije, Vanderbilt
Francisco Garcia, Louisville
Ryan Gomes, Providence
Ben Gordon, Connecticut
Devin Harris, Wisconsin
Julius Hodge, NC State
Luke Jackson, Oregon
Jameer Nelson, Saint Joseph's
Emeka Okafor, Connecticut
J.J. Redick, Duke
Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State
Wayne Simien, Kansas
Ronny Turiaf, Gonzaga 
Hakim Warrick, Syracuse
Bracey Wright, Indiana



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «