Morrison, Few, Batista Earn WCC Awards

Feb. 28, 2006

SAN BRUNO, Calif. - For the sixth straight year the West Coast Conference Player of the Year and Coach of the Year trophy will reside at Gonzaga University.

Adam Morrison became the sixth straight Bulldog to capture Player of the Year honors and head coach Mark Few continued his dominance of Coach of the Year accolades as the All-WCC team was announced Monday. Gonzaga center J.P. Batista joined Morrison on the All-WCC first team.

Morrison followed in the footsteps of Ronny Turiaf (2005), Blake Stepp (2003-04), Dan Dickau (2002) and Casey Calvary (2000) in earning Player of the Year. The Spokane, Wash., native and Mead High graduate leads the nation in scoring with 28.8 points per game, following a 34-point effort on Monday as the Bulldogs put the cap on a perfect 14-0 WCC regular-season title. He's shooting 50.9 percent from the field and 43.8 percent from 3-point range. Morrison has topped the 30-point plateau 13 times this season and has reached 40 or more points in a game on five occasions, including a career-high 44 points at Loyola Marymount. His 29.4 points per game average during WCC play ranks as the fifth highest clip in conference history.

Few, who last year won Coach of the Year honors for a WCC record fifth straight year, added another honor to his resume as the Bulldogs have been ranked fifth in the country for the past five weeks and recorded a 14-0 WCC season for the second time in three years. Few increased his career WCC coaching record to an astounding 89-9 (.908) in seven campaigns. Few has guided the Bulldogs to six consecutive WCC regular-season titles, breaking the previous record of five straight by San Francisco (1977-81). The Bulldogs are all but assured of reaching the NCAA Tournament for an eighth straight season as the Bulldogs take a 25-3 record and a nation-leading 16-game winning streak into the WCC Tournament which comes to Gonzaga this week.

Batista has been an inside force all season for the Bulldogs, averaging 19.5 ppg, 9.3 rpg and recording 13 of his 17 career double-doubles this season.

Rounding out this year's conference awards were the University of San Diego's Corey Belser as Defensive Player of the Year and the University of San Francisco's Armondo Surratt tabbed as the WCC Newcomer of the Year. Belser, considered one of the top defenders in the country, takes home his first WCC Defensive Player of the Year award and is the first San Diego player to garner the league's top defensive honor. The Spanaway, Wash., native ranked in the top 10 in the conference in steals, blocks and defensive rebounds. Surratt, a junior transfer from the University of Miami, made an immediate impact in his first season on The Hilltop, pacing the WCC in assists, while averaging 14.5 points per game.

2006 All-West Coast Conference Team
Name                             HT      Pos.   YR      Hometown
J.P. Batista, Gonzaga            6-9     F/C    SR      Olinda, Pernambuco, Brazil
Pooh Jeter, Portland             5-11     G     SR      Gardena, CA
Daniel Kickert, Saint Mary's     6-10     F     JR      Melbourne, Australia
Matthew Knight, Loyola Marymount 6-8      F     JR      Burnie, Tasmania, Australia
Nick Lewis, San Diego            6-10     F     SR      Paradise Valley, AZ
Adam Morrison, Gonzaga           6-8      G     JR      Spokane, WA
Travis Niesen, Santa Clara       6-7      F     SR      Mission Viejo, CA
Armondo Surratt, San Francisco   6-0      G     JR      Oakland, CA
Wes Wardrop, Loyola Marymount    6-3      G     SR      Anaheim, CA
Brandon Worthy, Loyola Marymount 6-2      G     JR      San Jose, CA

Honorable Mention

Pepperdine: Tashaan Forehan-Kelly; Portland: Darren Cooper; San Diego: Corey Belser, Ross DeRogatis; San Francisco: Alan Wiggins, Jr.

2006 All-WCC Freshman Team

Name                            HT     Pos.     Hometown
John Bryant, Santa Clara        6-11    C       San Pablo, CA
Michael Gerrity, Pepperdine     6-0     G       Yorba Linda, CA
Brandon Johnson, San Diego      6-0     G       Houston, TX
Gyno Pomare, San Diego          6-7    F/C      Oceanside, CA
Diamon Simpson, Saint Mary's    6-7     F       Hayward, CA
Coach of the Year: Mark Few, Gonzaga
Player of the Year: Adam Morrison, Gonzaga

Defender of the Year: Corey Belser, San Diego
Newcomer of the Year: Armondo Surratt, San Francisco



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «