Heytvelt, Bouldin Named To NABC District 9 First Team

March 5, 2009

KANSAS CITY, Mo. ¨C Gonzaga University senior forward Josh Heytvelt and junior guard Matt Bouldin have been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District 9 first team, while sophomore forward Austin Daye was a second-team selection.

Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC, these student©\athletes represent the finest basketball players across America. The 240 student©\athletes, from 24 districts which were realigned this season, are now eligible for the State Farm Coaches¡¯ Division I All©\America teams to be announced April 4 at Hoop City in the COBO Center at 10 a.m. as part of the 2009 NABC Convention in Detroit, Mich.

Heytvelt and Bouldin were each named to the All-West Coast Conference first-team earlier this week, while Daye was accorded honorable mention recognition.

Heytvelt, from Clarkston, Wash., who is in graduate school, is averaging a team-high 15.2 ppg, 6.8 rpg for seventh and is shooting 54.9 percent from the field for the Bulldogs. He capped the year with an amazing run that saw him set his career-high with 28 points against Pepperdine University and then come back five days later and set it again with 29 at SCU the final weekend of the WCC season. He had four double-doubles.

Bouldin, who hails from Highlands Ranch, Colo., was perhaps the Bulldogs most consistent performer this season. He is averaging 13.8 ppg as the Bulldogs are awaiting to see who their opponent will be in the semifinals of the WCC Tournament Sunday in Las Vegas. Gonzaga is the No. 1 seed in the tourney which carries with it an automatic bye into the semifinals.

Heytvelt and Bouldin are currently 25th and 26th, respectively, n the all-time Gonzaga scoring list. Heytvelt has 1,106 career points while Bouldin has 1,105.



Daye, a sophomore from Irvine, Calif., is averaging 12.6 ppg and a team-high 6.9 rpg. His 114 career blocks are third on the Gonzaga charts and he set a single-season record with his 60th block of the season Tuesday against USC Upstate, surpassing the previous single-season record of 59 held by Ronny Turiaf.

Joining Heytvelt and Bouldin on the first team from District 9 are John Bryant, Santa Clara, University; Patrick Mills, Saint Mary¡¯s College, and Josh Akognan of Cal State Fullerton. In addition to Daye the second team consists of Nik Raivio of the University of Portland, Dior Lowhorn of the University of San Francisco, Diamon Simpson of Saint Mary¡¯s College and Gyno Pomare of the University of San Diego.

NABC District 9

First Team 
John Bryant Santa Clara
Patrick Mills St. Mary¡¯s
Matt Bouldin Gonzaga 
Josh Akognan Fullerton
Josh Heytvelt Gonzaga

Second Team Austin Daye Gonzaga Nik Raivio Portland Dior Lowhorn South Florida Diamon Simpson St. Mary¡¯s Gyno Pomare San Diego

Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «