Men's Basketball To Play In 2013 Maui Invitational

            MAUI, Hawaii - Gonzaga University's men's basketball team will return to the 30th annual EA SPORTS Maui Invitational in 2013, organizers of the event announced Tuesday.

            Joining the Bulldogs at the famed Lahaina Civic Center will be host Chaminade University, University of Arkansas, Baylor University, University of California, University of Dayton, University of Minnesota and Syracuse University.

            Ticket information will be communicated to Bulldog Club members at a later date.

            "The 2013 field represents the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational's longstanding commitment to bringing the top teams in the nation to the island of Maui," said tournament chairman David Odom. "With some of the country's top basketball programs and great coaching minds paired with devoted fan bases traveling to Maui in 2013, we are excited for another fun-filled and competitive week of Basketball in Paradise."

            Three previous Maui champions, Syracuse (1990, 1998), Gonzaga (2009) and Dayton (2003) will return to the island in search of another Maui title and early-season bragging rights. The four Division I teams that will participate in the 2013 Opening Games and Regional Games, will be announced at a later date.

            The Bulldogs will be making their fourth appearance in Maui, winning the title in 2009 behind Co-MVP's Steven Gray and Matt Bouldin. The Zags finished second in 2006, defeating Michigan State University in triple overtime in what is still considered one of the best games in tournament history and losing to the University of Connecticut in the title game. Adam Morrison was named the MVP.

            Gonzaga's first trip to the islands came in 2002, beating the University of Utah in the first round, losing to Indiana University 76-75 in the semifinals and falling to  the University of Kentucky 80-72 to finish fourth.



  • 2005: Sixth place (1-2 record)
  • 1991: Second place (2-1 record, faced Minnesota in first round and won 92-83)


  • 1987: Sixth place (1-2)


  • 1996: Third place (2-1)


  • 2003: Champions (3-0, MVP Keith Waleskowski)
  • 2000: Third place (2-1)


  • 2009: Champions (3-0, Co-MVPs Matt Bouldin and Steven Gray)
  • 2005: Second Place (2-1, MVP Adam Morrison)
  • 2002: Fourth Place (1-2)


  • 1991: Fifth Place (2-1, faced Arkansas in first round and lost 92-83)


  • 1998: Champions (3-0, MVP Jason Hart)
  • 1990: Champions (3-0, MVP Billy Owens)


  • Participated in each EA SPORTS Maui Invitational since 1984
  • 6-73 overall record (most recently beat Oklahoma in 2010 seventh place game)

            In all, 93 schools representing 23 conferences and 39 states have competed in the EA SPORTS Maui Invitational, with Maui participants having won an astounding 62 of 73 NCAA championships and 58 of 73 national runner-up spots while comprising 239 of 292 Final Four teams.



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «