Stepp, Turiaf Earn USBWA Honors

March 8, 2004

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - Gonzaga University senior Blake Stepp and junior Ronny Turiaf have been named to the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District 9 first team with Stepp also earning Player of the Year honors for the district.

Stepp was recognized by the writers for the second straight season and became the second Bulldog in three years to earn District 9 Player of the Year, Dan Dickau garnering the honor in 2002.

Turiaf was named to the squad for the first time, and it comes a day after his rebound basket with five seconds to play lifted the Bulldogs to a 63-62 win over Santa Clara University in the West Coast Conference Tournament semifinals. Gonzaga meets Saint Mary's College tonight with a fifth WCC Tournament title in the last six years on the line for Gonzaga.

Stepp and Turiaf were both honored earlier this week with WCC first-team honors, Stepp earning a second straight WCC Player of the Year accolade.

Mike Montgomery of Stanford University was named the Coach of the Year.

Channing Frye, Arizona
Andre Iguodala, Arizona
Josh Childress, Stanford
Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Chris Hernandez, Stanford
Luke Jackson, Oregon
Michael Kuebler, Hawaii
Brandon Roy, Washington
Aerick Sanders, San Diego State
Blake Stepp, Gonzaga
Ronny Turiaf, Gonzaga

DISTRICT 9 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Blake Stepp, Gonzaga DISTRICT 9 COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Montgomery, Stanford



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «