GU's Dickau Academic All-America First Team

March 9, 2002

STAMFORD, Conn. - Gonzaga University's Dan Dickau and the University of Florida's Matt Bonner, the leading scorers on two of the nation's elite teams, were named to the Verizon Academic All-America Men's Basketball Teams as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Dickau, a senior guard from Vancouver, Wash., carries 3.40 GPA in broadcasting. He graduated at the semester break and is currently enrolled in graduate school. The West Coast Conference Player of the Year and WCC Tournament MVP is averaging 20.8 ppg and 4.7 assists/game for the 6th ranked Zags, who will take a 29-3 record into their fourth straight NCAA Tournament. He is the Bulldogs' all-time single-season leader in 3-point field goals wsith 113.

Dickau is the first Gonzaga men's basketball player to earn Academic All-America honors since 1994 when Jeff Brown was named the University Division Academic Player of the Year. Brown was also a 1993 first-team selection, and a 1992 third team choice. Other former Bulldog selections are Jarrod Davis (1992 first team, 1991 second team), Jim McPhee (1990 second team), Bryce McPhee (1985 first team, 1984 second team, 1983 third team) and John Stockton (1984 second team).

Bonner (3.97/business administration), a junior forward from Concord, N.H., is averaging 16 points and seven rebounds per game for the 12th-ranked Gators. He was named the University (Division I) Division's Team Member of the Year.

Rounding out the first team are Wes Burtner of Belmont (3.82/management), Eric Channing of New Mexico St. (3.89/management), and Patrick Jackson of Ball St. (3.53/business).

Kevyn McBride of Alderson-Broaddus was named Team Member of the Year in the College Division. A senior guard from Mullens, W. Va., he is averaging 19 points, 6 rebounds and 4 assists per game, leading his team to the NCAA Division II playoffs. McBride is an applied math major with a 3.97 GPA.

Other members of the College Division first team: Bob Donlan of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (3.61/economics/accounting), Jesse Harris of Simpson (IA) (3.95/political science/history), Scott Jaeger of Marian (WI) (3.91/business administration/accounting), and Christopher Unton of Rose-Hulman (4.00/computer science).

This year marks the 50th anniversary of the Verizon Academic All-America program, which was founded by CoSIDA in 1952 to recognize collegiate student-athletes for their outstanding achievements in the classroom and on the playing field. Over the past 50 years, the Verizon Academic All-America program has grown into one of the most recognized and prestigious collegiate scholar-athlete awards nationwide, honoring student-athletes from all NCAA championship sports.

The Verizon Academic All-America Teams are selected by a vote of the 1,800-member CoSIDA. To be eligible, an athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve and maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 3.20 on a scale of 4.00. Sports information directors nominate eligible athletes from their schools who are named to district teams prior to being voted upon the national level.

Under an agreement with CoSIDA, Verizon has been the exclusive sponsor of the Academic All-America program since 1985.



First Team

Name School Yr. Hometown GPA/Major Matt Bonner* Florida Jr. Concord, N.H. 3.97/Business Admin. Wes Burtner Belmont Sr. Winchester, Ky. 3.82/Management Eric Channing New Mexico Sr. Wheaton, Ill. 3.89/Management Dan Dickau Gonzaga Sr. Vancouver, Wash. 3.40/Broadcasting Patrick Jackson Ball St. Sr. Muncie, Ind. 3.53/Business

Second Team

Mike Dunleavy Duke Jr. Lake Oswego, Ore. 3.26/History Adam Mark Belmont So. Bremen, Ind. 3.90/Mathematics Bill Phillips St. Joseph's Gr. Collegeville, Pa. 3.63/Financial Services McEverett Powers Texas-San Antonio Sr. Memphis, Tenn. 3.50/Information Systems Jobey Thomas Charlotte Sr. Charlotte, N.C. 3.53/Communications

Third Team

Tim Lyle James Madison Sr. Poca, W. Va. 3.77/Integrated Science &Tech. Luke Recker Iowa Sr. Auburn, Ind. 3.29/Health, Leisure & Sports Predrag Savovic Hawaii Sr. Herceg Novi, Yugoslavia 3.25/Int'l. Business & Finance Tyler Smith Penn St. Sr. Lake Bluff, Ill. 3.45/Telecommunications J.R. Vanhoose Marshall Sr. Paintsville, Ky. 3.44/History

* Verizon Academic All-America Team Member of the Year - University Division



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «