Turiaf, Morrison Honored By USBWA

March 9, 2005

SAN DIEGO, Calif. - Gonzaga University's Ronny Turiaf and Adam Morrison earned more honors on Wednesday as both were named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District 9 team.

It was the second straight year Turiaf, a senior from Le Robert, Martinique, has been honored, while Morrison, a sophomore from Spokane, received his first recognition from the writers.

Both are Players of the Year in the West Coast Conference - Turiaf for the regular season and Morrison in the just-completed WCC Tournament won by the Bulldogs on Monday as he scored a career-high 30 points in the title game.

Salim Stoudamire of the University of Arizona was named the District 9 Player of the Year, while University of the Pacific's Bob Thomason was named Coach of the Year.

USBWA District 9 First Team
(California, Oregon, Washington, Hawaii, Arizona, Alaska)

Ike Diogu, Arizona State
Channing Frye, Arizona
Daniel Kickert, St. Mary's
Adam Morrison, Gonzaga
Christian Maraker, Pacific
Nate Robinson, Washington
Tre Simmons, Washington
Salim Stoudamire, Arizona
Dijon Thompson, UCLA
Ronny Turiaf, Gonzaga

District 9 Player of the Year: Salim Stoudamire, Arizona
District 9 Coach of the Year: Bob Thomason, Pacific



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «