Olynyk Named First Team All-America By Basketball Writers

            ST. LOUIS, Mo. - The honors keep coming in for Gonzaga University junior center Kelly Olynyk, who has been named to the 2013 U.S. Basketball Writers Association All-America Team.

            Eight of the 10 honored players are underclassmen - including all five on the first team - and there are six conferences represented on the squad. Based on regular-season performance, the USBWA selects the nation's top five players on two teams regardless of position.

            Joining the Kamloops, British Columbia, native on the first team are Doug McDermott (23.1 ppg, 7.5 rpg) of Creighton, the lone repeat selection; Trey Burke (19.2 ppg, 6.7 assists/game) of Michigan, one of two sophomores on the first team along with Otto Porter (16.3 ppg, 7.4 rpg) of Georgetown, and Victor Oladipo (13.6 ppg, 6.4 rpg) of Indiana who helped the Hoosiers to earn a top seed in the NCAA Tournament.

            Marcus Smart (15.4 ppg, 4.2 assists/game) of Oklahoma State, winner of the Wayman Tisdale Award as the National Freshman of the Year, headlines the second team which also includes Kansas' Ben McLemore (16.7 ppg, 43.7 3-pt FG pct). Mason Plumlee of Duke (17.2 ppg, 10.2 rpg), Jeff Withey of Kansas (13.6 ppg, 8.4 rpg) and Cody Zeller of Indiana (16.9 ppg, 8.2 rpg).

            Olynyk and the Bulldogs are ranked No. 1 in the Associated Press Top 25 as voted by the sportswriters and also received their inaugural No. 1 seed into the NCAA Tournament. The Zags open tournament play Thursday at EnergySolutions Arena in Salt Lake City against No. 16 Southern University. Olynyk is averaging 17.5 ppg and 7.2 rpg.

            Olynyk is the first Bulldog to be honored since Adam Morrison in 2006.

            Each of the 10 All-American selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award will be announced on Friday, April 5, in Atlanta in conjunction with the Final Four. The Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy presented by Aflac will be formally presented on Monday, April 15, at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards Gala in Oklahoma City.

            The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.


First Team

Trey Burke, Michigan, G, 6-0, 190, So., Columbus, Ohio

Doug McDermott, Creighton, F, 6-8, 225, Jr., Ames, Iowa

Victor Oladipo, Indiana, G, 6-5, 214, Jr., Upper Marlboro, Md.

Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga, F, 7-0, 238, Jr., Kamloops, B.C.

Otto Porter, Georgetown, F, 6-8, 205, So., Sikeston, Md.


Second Team

Ben McLemore, Kansas, G, 6-5, 195, Fr., St. Louis, Mo.

Mason Plumlee, Duke, F, 6-10, 235, Sr., Warsaw, Ind.

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State, G, 6-4, 225, Fr., Flower Mound, Texas

Jeff Withey, Kansas, C, 7-0, 235, Sr., San Diego, Calif.

Cody Zeller, Indiana, F, 7-0, 240, So., Washington, Ind.



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «