Bulldogs Bouldin Named AP Honorable Mention All-American

March 29, 2010

AP Basketball Writer

Gonzaga University senior guard Matt Bouldin has been named an Associated Press Honorable Mention selection on the 2010 men's basketball All-America squad.

Bouldin, the West Coast Conference Player of the Year, capped his career sixth on the all-time Gonzaga scoring charts with 1,683 points, tied for third on the steals list with 170 and is fifth on the assists charts with 444. He is also a finalist for the John R. Wooden Award, the Naismith Award, the Bob Cousy Award, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award and the Chip Hilton Award.

The native of Highlands Ranch, Colo., led the Bulldogs in scoring at 15.6 ppg and assists at 4.0 assists/game in helping Gonzaga to a 10th straight WCC regular-season title, its ninth WCC Tournament title in 12 years and a first-round NCAA Tournament victory over Florida State University. The Bulldogs finished 22nd in the final Associated Press Top 25 poll.

Bouldin is the 14th Bulldog player to be honored by the AP for a total of 17 recognitions. Jeremy Pargo was the last Bulldog recognized with honorable mention honors in 2008.

Dan Dickau was the first Zag to receive AP first-team All-America honors in 2002, a feat Adam Morrison duplicated in 2006. Blake Stepp was a second-team honoree in 2004 and Frank Burgess, who passed away last Friday at the age of 75, was a second-team selection in 1961 after leading the nation in scoring at 32.4 ppg.

Having a couple of freshmen on The Associated Press' All-America team is nothing new. This year, however, they are from the same school.

Kentucky's John Wall and DeMarcus Cousins were on the All-America team. Joining them were Ohio State junior Evan Turner, who received all but one first-team vote, Syracuse junior Wes Johnson and Villanova senior Scottie Reynolds.



In the age of one-and-done players, the All-America team has become a home for freshmen. Kevin Durant of Texas and Greg Oden of Ohio State were on the 2007 team, while Michael Beasley of Kansas State and Kevin Love of UCLA were on it the next year.

After a year without any freshmen being honored, Wall and Cousins moved in as the ninth set of teammates to be selected and the first since Duke's J.J. Redick and Shelden Williams in 2006.

The 6-11 Cousins became one of the country's top big men and was the only player selected to the team who averaged a double-double with 15.3 points and 10.1 rebounds.

They helped the Wildcats reach No. 1 for one week in a season they were no lower than fifth in any poll.

Turner, the 6-7 point guard considered one of the best all-around players in recent years, received all but one first-team vote from the 65-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25.

Wall received 62 votes, while Johnson had 45, Reynolds 32 and Cousins 26 in voting conducted before the NCAA tournament. Turner missed six games after breaking bones in his back when he fell after a dunk in December. The Buckeyes went .500 without him and then went on to the Big Ten title when he returned.

Johnson burst onto the national scene in his first season with the Orange after transferring from Iowa State. The 6-7 forward averaged 16.0 points and 8.4 rebounds in leading Syracuse to its first No. 1 ranking since 1990.

The 6-2 Reynolds averaged 18.5 points and shot 40 percent from 3-point range in becoming the Wildcats' go-to player with several spectacular second-half efforts.

James Anderson of Oklahoma State was sixth in the balloting with 27 votes and was joined on the second team by Sherron Collins of Kansas, Greivis Vasquez of Maryland, Jon Scheyer of Duke and Da'Sean Butler of West Virginia.

The third team was Greg Monroe of Georgetown, Cole Aldrich of Kansas, Damion James of Texas, Luke Harangody of Notre Dame and Darington Hobson of New Mexico.

Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «