Mallon, Hawk Named To I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team

April 3, 2006

CLEVELAND, Ohio - Gonzaga University junior basketball players Sean Mallon and Stephanie Hawk were both selected to the 2006 Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Teams as selected by the I-AAA Athletic Directors Association. This is the fourth year that this team has been recognized to honor student-athletes playing for schools classified as I-AAA (non-football playing institutions).

Mallon makes his second appearance on the I-AAA Scholar-Athlete team with a 3.27 in Political Science. Mallon appeared in all 33 games for the Bulldogs as they advanced to the NCAA Sweet 16 and finished the season with a No. 5 ranking by the Associated Press. Mallon started 32 of 33 games averaging 7 points and 4.6 rebounds for the Bulldogs.

Hawk makes her first appearance on the I-AAA Scholar-Athlete team with a 3.58 in Business. Hawk was the lone Bulldogs player to start all 30 games this season as Gonzaga won its second straight West Coast Conference regular-season title. She was a first-team All-WCC selection averaging 12.9 points and 7.1 rebounds.

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. He/she must have reached sophomore athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution and have completed a minimum of one full academic year at the nominated institution. He/she must also have participated in 50 percent of the games played at his/her designated position.

Additionally, from the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete were selected as the Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Receiving the women's honor was Allie Quigley, a sophomore from DePaul University, with a 3.83 GPA in physical education; while the men's award went to Anthony Toliver, a junior from Creighton University, with a 3.54 GPA in finance.

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name	Institution	Year	GPA	Major
John Goldsberry	UNC Wilmington	Sr	3.56	Finance
Charles Harris	Canisius	Jr	3.53	Digital Media Arts
Martin Klimes	Vermont	Jr	3.85	Business Admin.
Alex Loughton	Old Dominion	Sr	3.40	Business/Marketing
Sean Mallon	Gonzaga	Jr	3.27	Political Science
Charles Mohn III	UNC Asheville	Sr	3.46	Econsomics
Brett Seger	Denver	Sr	3.92	Accounting
Chet Stachitas	St. Joseph's	Sr	3.24	Marketing
Adrian Tigert	Wisconsin Milwaukee	Gr	3.40	MBA Business
Anthony Toliver	Creighton	Jr	3.54	Finance
Beckham David Wyrick	UNC Wilmington	Sr	3.42	Finance

Honorable Mention: Michael Bell, Fairfield; Walter Brady Dawkins, Texas Arlington;

Brian Hodges, Maryland Baltimore County; Mitchell Henke, Santa Clara;

Keith Jarbo, Pepperdine; Joey Kaempf, Santa Clara; Matthew Petersen, Utah Valley State;

and Zachary Trader, Texas Pan American.

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team Name Institution Year GPA Major Stephanie Hawk Gonzaga Jr 3.58 Business Megan Liffick Evansville Sr 3.31 Exercise Science Amber Renee Mason Longwood Sr 3.71 Criminology/Criminal Justice Sarah McIlwraith St. Louis Jr 3.93 Early Childhood Education Brooke Meyer Denver So 3.90 Finance/Real Estate Iva Milevoj Winthrop Sr 3.87 Marketing Allie Quigley DePaul So 3.83 Physical Education/td> Faith Schutte St. Joseph's Sr 3.86 English Michaela Vezenkova UNC Wilmington Jr 4.00 Political Science Amber Wirth Long Island Sr 3.79 Media Arts

Honorable Mention: Whitney Cave, Siena; Caitie Goddard, Detroit Mercy;

Stacey Gooden, Texas Pan American; Carolyn Kieger, Marquette;

and Rachael Vanerwal, Boston University.



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «