It's Official! Morrison Scoring Champ

April 5, 2006

SPOKANE, Wash. - It's official. Gonzaga University junior Adam Morrison is the 2006 NCAA Division I scoring champion.

Morrison, who waged a two-man battle all season with Duke University's J.J. Redick, finished with a 28.1 ppg average while Redick finished second at 26.8 ppg. Keydren Clark of St. Peter's University was third at 26.3 ppg. The final statistics were tabulated through the NCAA Final Four title game that was played Monday.

Morrison becomes the second Bulldog to win the national scoring title, Frank Burgess accomplishing the feat with his 32.4 ppg for the 1960-61 season. Morrison's 926 points this season topped Burgess' all-time single-season school record of 842 during the 1960-61 campaign.

Other Bulldogs were also prominent in the final NCAA statistics. Junior Derek Raivio finished fourth in free throw percentage at 91.2 percent, connecting on 83-of-91 attempts. Blake Ahearn of Missouri State University was first at 93.6 percent (117-of-125), Jermaine Anderson of the University of New Hampshire was second at 91.9 percent (68-of-74) and Shawan Robinson of Clemson University was third at 91.3 percent (84-of-92).

Senior J.P. Batista was ranked in four categories - 19th in field goal percentage (58.9 percent, 234-for-397), 30th in rebounds per game (9.4), 36th in points per game (19.3) and 60th in free throw percentage (83.3 percent, 165-of-198).

As a team the Bulldogs ranked third in free throw percentage at 78.2 percent (667-for-853). St. Joseph's University was first at 79.9 percent (525-for-657) and New Hampshire was second at 78.5 percent (357-for-455). Gonzaga was 11th in scoring offense (80.1 ppg) and 22nd in field goal percentage (47.7 percent).



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «