Stockton, Dream Team Nominated For U.S. Olympic Hall Of Fame

April 29, 2009

NORTHBROOK, Ill. - Former Gonzaga University and Utah Jazz guard John Stockton is up for another Hall of Fame.

Stockton, who will be inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Enshrinement Class of 2009 in September, was a member of the 1992 U.S. Olympic "Dream Team" comprised of NBA players that has been chosen as one of the team nominees for the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame Class of 2009.

The United States Olympic Committee (USOC) and Allstate Insurance Company announced the nominees Wednesday.

In addition to Stockton, the 1992 Dream Team, the first Olympic team comprised of NBA players, included Charles Barkley, Larry Bird, Clyde Drexler, Patrick Ewing, Magic Johnson, Michael Jordan, Christian Laettner, Karl Malone, Chris Mullin, Scottie Pippen and David Robinson. That team outscored opponents by an average margin of 44 points on the way to the gold medal at the Barcelona Games.

The star-studded nominee list of 15 individuals, five teams and five Paralympians includes Olympic legends such as Teresa Edwards, Gary Hall, Sr., Michael Johnson and Picabo Street.

The finalists were unveiled Wednesday at an event headlined by Allstate chairman, president and chief executive officer, Tom Wilson, along with USOC acting CEO Stephanie Streeter, Chicago 2016 chairman and CEO Patrick Ryan, and U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame member John Naber.

"The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame celebrates our honorees' commitment to excellence and recognizes Americans who are role models and heroes," said Wilson. "Each of us can find strength, passion and inspiration in these ordinary people who achieved extraordinary success in the Olympics. They help make us proud to be Americans."

From now through June 16, fans can cast their votes for the 2009 class of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame online at The inducted class will include five individuals, one team and one Paralympian, as well as three additional individuals: a coach, veteran and special contributor. The inductees will be revealed in early July and will be honored at a black-tie induction ceremony on August 12 at McCormick Place in Chicago. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate is the only national sports Hall of Fame that includes fan voting.



The August 12 induction ceremony will honor the 2009 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame class and introduce a new international award - the Olive Branch Award - given to an individual or individuals who best represent the international ideals of the Olympic Games by working to build a peaceful and better world through sport. Also new to 2009, the induction ceremony will feature a special fundraising banquet to benefit Chicago 2016, Chicago's bid to host the 2016 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Nominees for the induction class of 2009 were selected by a 10-person nominating committee consisting of athletes, members of the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame, historians and USOC representatives.

The 2009 nominees are:

INDIVIDUALS Greg Barton, canoe/kayak Jeff Blatnick, wrestling Valerie Brisco-Hooks, athletics Tracie Ruiz-Conforto, swimming Teresa Edwards, basketball Gary Hall, Sr., swimming Michael Johnson, athletics Mary T. Meagher, swimming Sheila Young Ochowicz, speedskating Darrell Pace, archery Terry Schroeder, water polo John Smith, wrestling Picabo Street, alpine skiing Peter Westbrook, fencing Willye White, athletics

PARALYMPIANS Jean Driscoll, athletics David Larson, athletics Greg Mannino, alpine skiing Tony Volpentest, athletics Sarah Will, alpine skiing

TEAMS 1976 U.S. Women's 4x100 Freestyle Relay Team 1992 U.S. Men's Basketball Team 1996 U.S. Synchronized Swimming Team 1998 U.S. Women's Ice Hockey Team 2002 U.S. Women's Bobsled Team

Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «