Williams-Goss Named WCC Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year

June 13, 2017

REDONDO BEACH, Calif. -- Gonzaga's Nigel Williams-Goss was named the 2017 West Coast Conference Mike Gilleran male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced at the eighth annual WCC Honors Dinner.

The Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year is selected by a vote of the WCC's Executive Council to recognize the finest accomplishments in athletics, academics and community service by individuals who have completed their collegiate eligibility. The award is named in honor of the conference's first full-time commissioner, Mike Gilleran.

“Thank you so much for everyone on the entire council that voted for me,” Williams-Goss said. “It is beyond an honor and accomplishment to receive the Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. I definitely have to thank my entire coaching staff, the Gonzaga athletic department, and everyone that pushed me to strive both on the court and in the classroom. I’m just very humbled.”

Williams-Goss boasted a 3.84 GPA and received a degree in Psychology. For his success off of the court, he was named First Team Academic All-American by CoSIDA. He was also selected as the Men's Scholar Athlete of the Year by the DI-AAA ADA.

Williams-Goss was singled out for academic achievements at the Final Four and was given the NCAA’s Elite 90 Award, which recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the national championship level in his or her sport while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The Elite 90 is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s championships.

Williams-Goss became the first player in West Coast Conference history to be named the league’s Player and Newcomer of the Year. His 16.8 points per game ranked fifth in the conference, his 4.7 assists per game was fourth, and his 1.7 steals per contest and 86.7 free-throw percentage topped the WCC. He ranked fourth in the league with a 2.2 assist-to-turnover ratio. The Happy Valley, Ore. native added 6.0 rebounds per game.

Williams-Goss’ 64 steals in 2016-17 ranks fourth for most takeaways in a single season in program history. His 179 assists are ninth on the GU all-time list, while his 640 points scored is 10th. He finished his three-year collegiate career with 1,536 points, 396 assists and 133 steals.

Williams-Goss started all 38 games he played in this season at GU, reaching double-digit scoring 32 times. He scored 20 or more points in 10 games and had three double-doubles. He was named the Most Outstanding Player in the WCC Tournament and to the All-Tournament Team at the Final Four.

After being named the conference Player of the Week four times during the season, he was named a finalist for the Bob Cousy Award and a semifinalist for the Naismith Trophy. He was named to the Wooden Award All-American Team, and First Team All-American by Sports Illustrated and the USBWA. He was tabbed Second Team All-American by NBC Sports, The Sporting News, USA Today, the NABC and the Associated Press.

Williams-Goss is the 10th Zag to receive the prestigious award. Kyle Wiltjer received the honor last season.

Mike Gilleran Scholar-Athletes of the Year
2017 - Amy Boswell (BYU) and Nigel Williams-Goss (GON)
2016 - Sterling Shuster (LMU) and Kyle Wiltjer (GON)
2015 - Alaysia Brown (USD) and Johnny Dee (USD)
2014 - Clarke Spinosa (USD) and Haiden Palmer (GON)
2013 -Matthew Dellavedova (SMC) and Ana Pontes (PEP)
2012 - Miles Batty (BYU) and Kim Hill (PEP)
2011 - Dylan Leslie (SMC), Jessica Tsao (POR)
2010 - Thomas Betterbed (POR), Jennifer Heinser (USF)
2009 - Greg Moss (LMU), Julie Rubenstein (PEP)
2008 - Tavo Hall (USF), Stephanie Cox (POR)
2007 - Richard Johnson (PEP), Kim McGivens (SCU)
2006 - Nick Kliebert (PEP), Christine Sinclair (POR)
2005 - Michael Putnam (PEP), Megan Kakadelas (SCU)
2004 - Blake Stepp (GON), Kate Murray (LMU) & Imani Dorsey (POR)
2003 - Jeff Kovar (LMU), Katherin Hull (PEP) & Aly Wagner (SCU)
2002 - Dan Dickau (GON), Danielle Slaton (SCU)
2001 - Michael Cortez (LMU), Anne Garrison (SCU)
2000 - Bryan Bothwell (POR), Susan Erpelding (USD)
1999 - Clemens Phillipi (LMU), Brittany Lindhe (USF)
1998 - David Sivulich (SMC), Tracy Holman (LMU)
1997 - Uli Steidl (POR), Mollie Flint (SMC)
1996 - Brendan Graves (SCU), Valerie Gillon (USF)
1995 - Jacob Slania (USD), Margaret Krawiec (SCU)
1994 - Jeff Brown (GON), Sheri Brown (LMU)
1993 - Jason Boykoff (POR), Nikki Rosenfeldt (POR)
1992 - Jarrod Davis (GON), Martha Sheldon (POR)
1991 - Brenden Griffin (USD), Anja Bordt (SMC)
1990 - Joe DeBortoli (USF), Paula Mascari (USD)
1989 - Rick Hirtensteiner (PEP), Tracy Thorne (POR)
1988 - Wes Bilven (SCU), Mary Carlson (USF)
1987 - Steve Krallman (USD), Debbie Dunbar (USF)
1986 - John bustos (USF), Chris Starr (NEV)
1985 - Bryce McPhee (GON)
1984 - John Stockton (GON)
1983 - Brandon Bennett (SMC)
1982 - Bill Dunlap (GON)
1981 - Al Smoot (USF)
1980 - Ted Wood (SMC)
1979 - Rodney Lee (USF)
1978 - Patrick McVeigh (SCU)
1977 - John O'Shaughnessy (SCU)
1976 - Dick Skophammer (PEP)

Female Award started after 1986



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «