Morrison A Wooden Award Candidate

Aug. 9, 2005

LOS ANGELES, Calif. - Gonzaga University junior Adam Morrison has been named to the John R. Wooden Award Preseason Top 50 for the men's basketball 2005-06 Wooden Award All-America team.

The list is comprised of 50 student-athletes who, based on last year's individual performance and team records, are the early frontrunners for college basketball's most coveted trophy. These top 50 candidates are all returning players, although transfers, freshmen and other players who excel throughout the season will be evaluated and considered for both the Midseason top 30 list and the National Ballot.

"With so many players jumping to the next level and so many standout athletes from last year, the committee had a tough time nominating these candidates from such a wide selection of tremendous players," said Duke Llewellyn, Wooden Award chairman. "These preseason selections represent the elite of college basketball, and our entire team at the Wooden Award is excited to see the best players in the nation prove their case as college basketball's player of the year."

Morrison was a West Coast Conference first-team selection and an Associated Press honorable mention All-America pick last year for the 26-5 Bulldogs who advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the seventh straight season.

This is the seventh straight season the Bulldogs have been represented on the Wooden Award list. Dan Dickau became the Bulldogs inaugural Wooden Top 5 All-America selection in 2002, Casey Calvary was the first Bulldog to make the Top 10 All-American squad in 2001 and Blake Stepp was also a Top 10 All-American in 2004.

Duke's J.J. Redick and Illinois' Dee Brown are the sole preseason candidates who were honored last year as members of the 2005 Wooden Award All-American Team. Additionally, Sheldon Williams (Duke) and Craig Smith (Boston College) join Redick and Brown as the only preseason candidates named to last year's official voting ballot. Other preseason candidates that were in the running for last year's Wooden Award include guards Justin Gray (Wake Forest), Chris Hernandez (Stanford), Carl Krauser (Pittsburgh) and Gerry McNamara (Syracuse); and forwards Leon Powe (California), P.J. Tucker (Texas) and Curtis Withers (Charlotte).

Eleven NCAA conferences are represented, including the Big East (nine players), ACC (eight players), Pac 10 (seven players), Big Ten (six players), Big 12 (six players), Atlantic 10 (four players), SEC (four players), Conference USA (two players), Western Athletic Conference (two players), West Coast Conference (one player), and the Missouri Valley Conference (one player).

With more than 90 players receiving at least one vote, no teams stood out with an overwhelming number of preseason nominees. However, several teams had two players nominated, including Boston College, Connecticut, Duke, Michigan State, Stanford, Texas, and Wake Forest. Three of last year's Final Four teams feature representatives on the 2005-06 Wooden Award preseason list, including Michigan State's Paul Davis and Maurice Ager, Louisville's Taquan Dean, and Illinois' Dee Brown.

In mid-January, the Wooden Award committee will release the midseason top 30 on CBS Sports, and on Tuesday, March 28, the 10-player Wooden Award All-American Team will be announced. The 2006 Award ceremony, which will include the presentation of the Men's and Women's Wooden Award, the Wooden Award All-American Teams and the Legends of Coaching Award, will be held at The Los Angeles Athletic Club on April 8, 2006, and will be broadcast live on a national CBS telecast.

About the John R. Wooden Award

Created in 1976, the John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual honor in college basketball. It is bestowed upon the nation's best player at an institution of higher education who has proven to his or her university that he or she is making progress toward graduation and maintaining a cumulative 2.0 GPA. Previous winners include such notables as Michael Jordan ('84), Larry Bird ('79), Tim Duncan ('97) and last year's recipient, Andrew Bogut ('05).

As a part of the John R. Wooden Award, the top five male and female finalists will receive a contribution from the John R. Wooden Award Scholarship Fund for their university's general scholarship fund. The Wooden Award Scholarship Fund was established in 2002 by Applied Materials and corporate partners through the California Community Foundation (CCF) to honor Coach Wooden's dedication as an educator and mentor. Applied Materials distributed $10,000 last year to each university represented by a men's and women's Wooden Award All-American Team finalist (for a total of $100,000). Additional donations to Applied Materials' John R. Wooden Award Scholarship Fund can be made by contacting the scholarship fund through the CCF (

2005-06 Wooden Award Preseason

All-American Team - Top 50 Candidates
(Based on a preseason poll. Players listed alphabetically.)

Hassan Adams	    6'4"	Sr.	G	Arizona
Maurice Ager	    6'5"	Sr.	G	Michigan State
Josh Boone	    6'10"	Jr.	F	Connecticut
Brandon Bowman	    6'8"	Sr.	F	Georgetown
Ronnie Brewer	    6'7"	Jr.	G	Arkansas
Aaron Brooks	    6'0"	Jr.	G	Oregon
Dee Brown    	  5'11"	Sr.	G	Illinois
Nick Caner-Medley   6'8"	Sr.	F	Maryland
Rodney Carney	    6'7"	Sr.	F	Memphis
Mardy Collins	    6'6"	Sr.	G	Temple
JamesOn Curry	    6'3"	So.	G	Oklahoma State
Chuck Davis	    6'7"	Sr.	F	Alabama
Glen Davis	    6'9"	So.	F	LSU
Paul Davis	    6'11'	Sr.	C	Michigan State
Taquan Dean	    6'3"	Sr.	G	Louisville
Guillermo Diaz	    6'2"	Jr.	G	Miami
Jared Dudley	    6'7"	Jr.	F	Boston College
Jordan Farmar	    6'2"	So.	G	UCLA
Nick Fazekas	    6'11"	Jr.	F	Nevada
Daniel Gibson	    6'2"	So.	G	Texas
Rudy Gay	            6'9"	So.	F	Connecticut
Justin Gray	    6'2"	Sr.	G	Wake Forest
Taj Gray	            6'9"	Sr.	F	Oklahoma
Vincent Grier	    6'5"	Jr.	G	Minnesota
Dan Grunfeld	    6'6"	Sr.	G	Stanford
Chris Hernandez	    6'2"	Sr. 	G	Stanford
Jeff Horner	    6'3"	Sr.	G	Iowa
Jarrius Jackson	    6'1"	Jr.	G	Texas Tech
Ben Jacobson	    6'3"	Sr.	G	Northern Iowa
Carl Krauser	    6'2"	Jr.	G	Pittsburgh
Nana (Pops) Mensah-Bonsu
                     6'9"	Sr.	F	George Washington
Paul Millsap	    6'8"	Jr.	F	Louisiana Tech
Gerry McNamara        6'2"	Sr.	G	Syracuse
Adam Morrison	    6'8"	Jr.	F	Gonzaga
Steve Novak	    6'10"	Sr.	F	Marquette
Kevin Pittsnogle    6'11"	Sr.	C	West Virginia
Leon Powe	            6'8"	Jr.	F	California
J.J. Redick	    6'4"	Sr.	G	Duke
Rajon Rondo	    6'1"	So.	G	Kentucky
Brandon Roy	    6'6"	Sr.	G	Washington
Craig Smith	    6'7"	Sr.	F	Boston College
Steven Smith	    6'7"	Sr.	F	LaSalle
Curtis Stinson	    6'3"	Jr.	G	Iowa State
Curtis Sumpter	    6'7"	Sr.	F	Villanova
Alando Tucker	    6'5"	So.	F	Wisconsin
P.J. Tucker	    6'5"	Jr.	F	Texas
Darius Washington     6'2"	So. 	G	Memphis
Eric Williams	    6'9"	Sr.	C	Wake Forest
Sheldon Williams      6'9"	Sr.	F	Duke
Curtis Withers	    6'8"	Sr.	F	Charlotte



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «