MBB's Pangos Named to 2015 Bob Cousy Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Senior guard Kevin Pangos was named to the 2015 Bob Cousy Award Watch List for the third year in a row, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday.

Pangos enters his final season as a Zag after leading GU to West Coast Conference regular season and tournament titles last season. He averaged 14.4 points, 3.6 assists and 3.3 rebounds per game in 2013-14. He was named to the preseason All-WCC First Team earlier this fall, while the team was picked to win the regular season title by the league’s coaches.

This watch list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 in early February, then final five by early March. A premier Selection Committee has been appointed by the Hall of Fame to review the candidates in contention for the nation’s top collegiate point guard award. This committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including members of the media, head coaches, media relations contacts and Hall of Famers. The Cousy Award winner will be presented the award on Championship Monday in Indianapolis at the Hall of Fame's Class of 2015 Announcement and Press Conference.

“The Hall of Fame is honored to work with Mr. Cousy and to recognize some of the nation’s top collegiate point guards,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “This year’s list showcases student athletes that have all of the intangibles that would make them great candidates for this prestigious award.”

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland), Kemba Walker (Connecticut) Kendall Marshall (North Carolina), Trey Burke (Michigan) and last year’s winner Shabazz Napier (Connecticut). For more information on the 2015 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.

Complete Watch List for 2015 Bob Cousy Award

Olivier Hanlan, Boston College

Quinn Cook, Duke University

Tyus Jones, Duke University

D’Vauntes Smith-Rivera, Georgetown University

Kevin Pangos, Gonzaga University

Siyani Chambers, Harvard University

Yogi Ferrell, Indiana University

Monte Morris, Iowa State University

Kenneth Smith, Louisiana Tech University

Cameron Payne, Murray State University

Chasson Randle, Stanford University

Will Cummings, Temple University

Alex Caruso, Texas A&M University

T.J. McConnell, University of Arizona

Ryan Boatright, University of Connecticut

Kasey Hill, University of Florida

Andrew Harrison, University of Kentucky

Tyler Ulis, University Kentucky

Terry Rozier, University of Louisville

Romelo Trimble, University of Maryland

Angel Rodriguez, University of Miami

Derrick Walton Jr., University of Michigan

Jarvis Summers, University of Mississippi

Marcus Paige, University of North Carolina

Pierria Henry, University of North Carolina (Charlotte)

Jordan Woodard, University of Oklahoma

EC Matthews, University of Rhode Island

Isaiah Taylor, University of Texas

Julius Brown, University of Toledo

Delon Wright, University of Utah

London Perrantes, University of Virginia

Keifer Sykes, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

Ryan Arcidiacono, Villanova University

Briante Weber, Virginia Commonwealth University

Juwan Staten, West Virginia University

Fred VanVleet, Wichita State University



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «