Bulldogs Harris Named To Naismith Award Preseason Watch List

Nov. 16, 2010

Complete Naismith Watch List in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

ATLANTA - Gonzaga University sophomore forward Elias Harris is among the 50 players named to the 2011 Naismith preseason watch list Tuesday.

Harris, who earlier was named to the John R. Wooden Award preseason watch list, started all 34 games for the Bulldogs last season, averaging 14.9 ppg. He was the top field goal shooter last year, shooting 54.7 percent from the field (180-for-329), and also paced the Bulldogs in rebounds at 7.1 rpg.

The native of Speyer, Germany, was named to the All-West Coast Conference first team, and was tabbed the WCC Newcomer of the Year by the conference coaches. Harris was also named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 9 team first team.

The watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2010-11 college basketball season. The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T* will be awarded at the 2011 NCAA Men's Final Four in Houston.

"This year's watch list features an incredible array of talent from across the country, which will create a tremendous challenge for our voting academy in determining the winner of the most prestigious trophy in college basketball," said Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director.

Since 2005, presenting sponsor AT&T has set the standard in allowing fans to participate in determining the trophy winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for 25 percent of all of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

In February, during CBS' coverage of college basketball, the "AT&T at the Half" segment will feature a Naismith Trophy update highlighting the players in contention for the award.

"AT&T is excited to watch the performances of these student-athletes in the coming season, and we look forward to following their successes," said Jason Simpson, executive director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. "At AT&T, we're all about connecting people to what matters most to them, so we're proud to continue our relationship with the Naismith Trophy and give basketball fans a say in determining the next Men's College Player of the Year."

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors will compile a mid-season team of the top 30 players in the nation. Then in March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

Other notable Naismith Men's College Player of the Year winners include Bill Walton, Larry Bird, Michael Jordan, Patrick Ewing and David Robinson. The Naismith Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to college basketball's player of the year.



Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book theW.tv Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «