Courtney Vandersloot Named To Preseason Wade Watch List

July 30, 2009

ATLANTA - Women's basketball junior-to-be Courtney Vandersloot has been named to the prestigious 2009-10 preseason "Wade Watch" list for The State Farm Wade Trophy Division I Player of the Year announced Thursday. Vandersloot becomes the inaugural Bulldog to be named to this list.

The 25-member list is made up of top NCAA Division I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

"I am excited to announce the 25 student-athletes who make up the 2009-2010 State Farm Wade Trophy `Watch' list," said Jeanne Lenti Ponsetto, Chair of the State Farm Wade Trophy Committee and Athletic Director at DePaul University. "The committee has done a superb job yet again at selecting the best and brightest in the women's game. This group represents 20 institutions and 10 conferences and if it is any indicator of what's to come this season, I think we all have a lot to look forward to."

Vandersloot has led the Zags the assists the past two seasons and is the reigning West Coast Conference Player of the Year and Tournament Most Valuable Player. Last year she was also a State Farm Coaches' and Associated Press All-America Honorable Mention honoree, along a finalist for the Nancy Lieberman Award.

In 2008-09, Vandersloot averaged 16.4 points and 7.5 assists per game, third most in the nation, and helped lead Gonzaga to its first-ever NCAA Tournament Second Round appearance. Vandersloot, who was named All-WCC first team as both a freshman and sophomore, is poised for another outstanding season as one of four returning starters for GU

This year's Wade Trophy list has 20 institutions and 10 conferences represented. Connecticut and Stanford each have three student-athletes on the list - Tina Charles, Tiffany Hayes and Maya Moore from the Huskies - and - Jayne Appel, Kayla Pederson and Jeannette Pohlen from the Cardinal. Ohio State added two (Jantel Lavender and Samantha Prahalis) to the list.



The ACC, BIG EAST, Big Ten and Pac-10 each have four student-athletes on the list, followed by the Big 12 (3), SEC (2), Atlantic-10 (1), Mountain West (1), Sun Belt (1) and West Coast (1).

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 33rd year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This highly prestigious award, regarded as the "Heisman of Women's Basketball," is organized by the WBCA, in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2010 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four, in San Antonio, Texas, April 2-6.

2009-2010 State Farm Wade Trophy Preseason List
The preseason candidates for The State Farm Wade Trophy are listed in alphabetical order:

Name - Year - Position - Institution
Jayne Appel - Senior - F/C - Stanford
Jessica Breland - Senior - F - North Carolina
Tina Charles - Senior - C/F - Connecticut
Alysha Clark - Senior - F - Middle Tennessee
Allyssa DeHaan - Senior - C - Michigan State
Alexis Gray-Lawson - Senior - G - Cal
Tiffany Hayes - Sophomore - G - Connecticut
Allison Hightower - Senior - G - LSU
Ashley Houts - Senior - G - Georgia
Jantel Lavender - Junior - C - Ohio State
Danielle McCray - Senior - G/F - Kansas
Jacinta Monroe - Senior - F/C - Florida State
Maya Moore - Junior - F - Connecticut
Jené Morris - Senior - G - San Diego State
Deirdre Naughton - Senior - G - DePaul
Kayla Pederson - Junior - F - Stanford
Ta'Shia Phillips - Junior - C - Xavier
Jeanette Pohlen - Junior - G - Stanford
Samantha Prahalis - Sophomore - G - Ohio State
Andrea Riley - Junior - G - Oklahoma State
Danielle Robinson - Junior - G - Oklahoma
Jenna Smith - Senior - C - Illinois
Carolyn Swords - Junior - C - Boston College
Courtney Vandersloot - Junior - G - Gonzaga
Monica Wright - Senior - G - Virginia

The Wade Trophy Coalition was established in June of 2000 when the WBCA partnered with The National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS). For the past eight years the two have worked together to present The State Farm Wade Trophy Player of the Year Award. A committee comprised of coaches, administration and media from across the United States selects the winner.

Twitter Logo
  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago
Instagram Logo
Facebook Logo
Annual Report 10_17_App_Promo_Icon ZAG_Promo_Icon Numerica Resume Book Varsity Club University Kids Club
» «